Doyle Crowned Premiership Champion

Doyle Crowned Premiership Champion

Jason Doyle warmed up for the commencement of his world title defence this weekend with a superb performance at Wimborne Road, Poole to win the 2018 Premiership Riders’ Championship.

The Rebels’ number one swept the opposition aside with some majestic moves, especially round the pit-turn of the Dorset circuit to claim his second title in British Speedway’s top league individual meeting. The 2015 Elite league Riders’ champion dropped just two points on the road to glory, Sam Masters heading him home in heat 2 and then being caught out by Swindon’s Troy Batchelor in heat 11.

Man dies suddenly in Taunton
Advertising - Click for more details

Both Doyle and Batchelor went on to accumulate 13 points each from their five rides which routed them direct to the final where they were joined by Poole’s number one Brady Kurtz – who had looked to be Doyle’s biggest threat during the heat stages – and former Pirate captain Hans Andersen, the Dane looking stylish after an opening last place.

Doyle was in no mood to be caught out again by Batchelor and quickly established a lead in the final to claim the title leaving Batchelor to settle for runners-up and Andersen edging the home favourite Kurtz out of a rostrum finish.

The Grand Prix series begins in Warsaw, Poland on Saturday and Doyle will head there boosted by this title success.

J.Doyle 13+3 (2,3,2,3,3); T.Batchelor 13+2 (2,2,3,3,3);H.Andersen 10+1 (0,2,3,3,2);  B.Kurtz 11+0 (3,3,3,2,0); J.Thorssell 9 (2,3,1,3,0);C.Harris 9 (3,3,0,1,2);  M.Fricke 9 (1,1,2,2,3); T.Proctor 7 (1,2,1,0,3); N.Morris 7 (3,2,0,1,1); C.Wright 7 (2,0,2,2,1); S.Masters 6 (3,0,3,0,0); N.Iversen 6 (0,0,2,2,2); A.Ellis 5 (1,1,0,1,2); J.Grajczonek 4 (1,1,0,1,1); K.Newman 3 (0,1,1,0,1); S.Nicholls 1 (0,0,1,NS,NS)

Doyle Crowned Premiership Champion
Jason Doyle on podium
Loading Please Wait...